“You’ll never know if you don’t try.”

Since my exam ended, things have been nothing but busy busy busy!

The next day, I started my new job. I am still working for the same boss, but no longer doing accounting (note: amend “About Me” page). My jobscope is completely different now, involving tonnes of documentation and scheduling and coordination (and tiny bit of accounting knowledge).

Prior to this career change (months ago), I consulted other people for their opinion. I was really unsure if I could handle a different job scope that has little to do with numbers, and I was unsure how fast I’d get another accounting job if I were to resign.

While some feel that it may be risky, most told me to gain confidence and go with it. I’m still young and have been given this rare opportunity (any boss don’t usually offer). Like the saying goes“You’ll never know if you don’t try.” Strange, for I’m usually the type who is up for anything new/unusual (but still safe), but why was I hesitating when it came to this?

So after much careful consideration, I made the decision to try and learn something new.

It’s been two weeks now, and I sure do miss accounting (and my nice clients), but I hope this isn’t goodbye and so long.

This brings me to my next concern; my studies. Now that I’m no longer doing accounting (for perhaps the next 2 to 3 years), how relevant is my pursue in accounting degree now.

If I were to stop, it’s kinda wasted, after all that money spent for the last three semesters. On the other hand, if I were to continue, it’s going to be a struggle, MORE struggling now that a wedding is on the way.

That is something I need to think about, and decide on. FAST.

In the meantime, I look forward to the new experiences to come and new knowledge gained.

ربي يسر ولا تعسر ,ربي تمم بالخير

“O my Lord, make things easier for me, do not make things difficult for me. O My Lord, let my affairs end with goodness. O my Lord, increase my knowledge and grant me understanding.”

Amin.

Leave a Reply

