Day 2: Self-reflection

Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot

People tell you things everyday, but not every one tell you things about yourself. Usually these comes from your own family members, because kalo hati tersinggung pun, there is very tiny chance that you disown a family member what. LOL.

For me, I remember someone who was not a family member, told me about myself which I have not forgotten. It did not affect my life in any huge way, but it made me realize what type of person I am.
He is my former boss, and during my employment under him, we had annual appraisals. It was my first time having any formal appraisals although this was not my first job. We had to fill up a form to think about what we had done well for the year, what were our strengths/weaknesses and what we hoped to achieve in the coming year.

And if that was not enough, he’d call us into his office, one by one, to talk about the appraisal form. Stress beb. Macam rasa nak kena buang kerja.

That day was my first appraisal in my life, and one of the things that he told me which I did not forget was,

“Juliana, you are self-contented person.”

I did not know how to take it. Is that good? Is that bad?

We talked about it and I learned that it could be both good and bad. Self-contentment prevents one from feeling dissatisfied with life all the time. On the contrary, one lacks ambition from feeling contented all the time. My boss was concerned that I was comfortable where I was and had no plans to upgrade myself, in terms of skills and career.

He was right. I was living in a ‘aku-redha-dengan-semuanya’ life. I was okay with a below-than-$2k job as long as it paid the bills. I was okay with just the position ‘Accounts Assistant’ as long as I have a job. I was okay with my $5 raya shoes as long as it fit me.

Fast forward to 8 years later, I am still the same person, but with slightly more ambitions lah. Like, losing weight – so I subscribed to a gym membership. Heh.

But overall, I am still very much self-contented.

2230f1ed9f28ffa021a0a3fd1ac8ed29

(Image credit: http://www.witwhimsy.com/2015/04/21/the-edit-on-self-improvement/)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

