[Recipe] Homemade meatballs

Assalamualaikum every one!

I had planned to make meatballs over the New Year long weekend, but it turned out to be an all-lepak-and-no-cook one instead. So I made some last night!

It was an impromptu thing since I had ground meat at home for days, hehe.

I found the recipe in Pinterest (loooooooove you long time), but had to modify it because I did not find it practical to go and buy some ingredients in packs when I’d only be using a tiny bit (membazir tak bagus okay).

So I used this beef, which is very common in our Singapore supermarkets.

img-20170113-wa0001

I bought this before the new year but kept it in the freezer for making meatballs later. If you hate using the microwave to defrost stuffs, I suggest that on the morning before you go to work, pop the frozen beef in your fridge. By the time you reach home, the beef will be chillaxing (pun intended) ready to use!

I used my food processor, because it’s just basically combining all ingredients together. But of course, you can still mix them manually in a bowl la, dapat buat arms exercise kejap kan.

Since I had a block of cheddar cheese in my fridge, I thought ‘Why not I further modify this to make it cheese-stuffed meatballs???’ Pandai kan? I know. So kita potong2 that cheese into small pieces lah.

20170112_213944

Look at these beauties!!! Ready to pop into the oven! I achieved a pretty consistent size for every meatball because I used my small ice-cream scoop to measure each ball before burying my cheese bits into each and every one.

Frankly, I was pretty nervous at how this one would turn out because it’s my first time making this recipe, then kalau tak jadi it would be so wasted. So I visually prepared myself to standby the tong sampah….and peeked at the oven after 10 minutes….

AND ALL I SAW WAS A MESS ON MY BAKING TRAY! Cheese was bursting out of each meatball and cheese sauce was covering the tray (why you didn’t cover the meatball instead la dei??)!

Upon seeing this mess, I laughed out so hard. I was laughing at myself! Tu lah pandai2 modify recipe kan. Pandai sangat nak tambah cheese kan!

(At this point, if you are feeling anxious over the cheesy mess on that baking tray, it was actually easy to clean because of the baking paper.)

20170112_220256.jpg

TADA!!!! Kelakar tak? Hahahahahahahhaha!

Well, I give myself 100 marks for effort, 0 marks for presentation and most importantly, 100 marks for taste! Am definitely making this again, and definitely skipping the cheese. LOL.

Because I passed with flying colours (cheh, padahal self-evaluation, LOL), I am so excited to share with you the recipe here! (I’m leaving out the cheese part.)

  • 300gm of ground beef
  • ½ red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup parmesan cheese, finely grated
  • 1 tomato, scoop the flesh out and outer layer finely chopped
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ¼ tsp. pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 200ºC. Prepare a baking tray lined with baking sheet.
  2. Mix together onion, garlic, egg, cheese, tomato (the scooped flesh & outer layer), salt, and pepper in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add in ground beef and mix gently until combined. Do not overwork. Scoop into sukahatikau-sized balls, making sure they are of the same size, and place on prepared bakingsheet.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 15-20 minutes, or until meatballs are browned and cooked through. (Makes 18 balls.)

With these meatballs, you can make your own version of Watsub’s Baked Marinara Sub (sorry Watsub, but I am very sure your meatballs are more power than mine), you can make a spaghetti sauce with meatballs, or you can even eat it on it’s own! Make sure it’s cooked la ok.

If you don’t intend to use it immediatelly, don’t worry:
If you plan to use it the next day, just store the cooked & cooled meatball in a container and pop it in the fridge.
If you don’t know when you are using it, but FOR SURE akan use it when it the time comes (you know la that feeling), store the cooked & cooled meatball in a container/ziplock and pop it in the freezer.
Heat it up before consuming.

Selamat mencuba!

 

 

Leave a Reply

