Double Decker Sandwich – To Each, His Own Creativity

Yesterday after having some of those Keropok Lekor, I was still feeling a little hungry as my usual dinner would consist of rice… But yours truly, being cerewet, didn’t quite fancy what was in the kuali. Then a loaf of wholemeal bread caught my eyes and the next thing I knew, I was reaching out for the butter knife, the usual kitchen knife, a jar of home-made tuna mayo, butter, cucumber and the chopping board.

And the result was this.

Double Decker Sandwich

The cheese slice and chicken flakes decided to join this mouth-watering combination at the last minute.

The great thing about a double decker sandwich is that there are no right or wrong ingredients to make one. (As long as they are all edible, of course!) Thus, I love the fact that I can play around with the ingredients, also gives me the chance to dig the fridge to see if my mum bought anything new. Hehe. And how healthy you eat (or not), depends on the ingredients you use. 🙂

So let your creativity form your double decker sandwich!

Keropok Lekor

Keropok Lekor Sedappppp!

About a week ago, Tok and his family travelled to Kuala Terengganu for a vacation. After he returned, and when we decided to meet one day, boy, was I greeted with two large plastic bags! And in it, was so many goodies from the state, and one of them was frozen Keropok Lekor!

Yesterday afternoon, my mum decided to fry half of the pack and served it for ‘tea time’, which I ate them for dinner after I got home after work. O. M. G. This thing is so sedap nak mampz!

For those who are having a huge question mark plastered across their foreheads going, “What is keropok lekor?” Don’t sweat it, I won’t ask you to wikipedia it, let me just enlighten you here.

Keropok Lekor
The easiest way to describe Keropok Lekor is to call it fish sausage. It is the specialty from Terengganu, a state at the east coast and omnipresent in the streets and villages and very much a part of the live of the people there.

Ahhhh… sodasneh!!! Fish sausage people! I just found out that they found an English translation for Keropok Lekor, and my little heart is still giggling over it. (No pun intended.) But I guess that is the best description for it so far.

So how does it taste like? Un-Believah-ble. Crispy on the outside, yet SOFT and CHEWY on the inside. Now, my mum has this idea to send Tok back to Terengganu to buy more of these crackers for us. Khekhe.

For those who are already drooling while reading this post (eew.), and would like to taste this fish sausage crackers or Keropok Lekor, feel free to drop me a comment so that I can order and send Tok all the way to Kuala Terengganu to buy some for you all!

And for those who took the above paragraph seriously, please eh. Takde masa aku. And I’m pretty sure Tok feels the same way. Hoho.

Fret not, you don’t have to travel all the way to Kuala Terengganu. Allow me to help you save some travelling expenses and just get to the nearest pasar malam you know NOW! You can find Malay vendors selling these yummylicious Keropok Lekor, together with Banana Fritters, Vadai, fried finger foods, etc etc.

Remember to dip it with the sauce that they’ll give you! It compliments the Keropok Lekor really well. The more the merrier better!

Now I’m secretly wishing my mum would fry some more of those today. Hehe.